Posted by: prayer0617 | June 2, 2013

Our Sin of Rebellion

I was reading Numbers 15.  Relief washed over me as I read how YHWH forgives the sins that we commit by mistake.  All of us have committed sin by mistake.  But by His mercy He has provided a sacrifice for those sins.

Numbers 15.25- “Then the priest shall make atonement for all the congregation of the children of Israel, and it shall be forgiven them, for it was by mistake.  And they shall bring their offering made by fire to YHWH, and their sin offering before YHWH for their mistake.  And it shall be forgiven all the congregation of the children of Israel and for the stranger who sojourns in their midst, because all the people did it by mistake.  And if a being sins by mistake then he shall bring a female goat a year old as a sin offering.  And the priest shall make atonement for the being who strays by mistake before YHWH, to make atonement for him, and it shall be forgiven him.  For him who does whatever by mistake there is one Torah both for him who is native among the children of Israel and for the stranger who sojourns in their midst. “

My heart felt a great sense of relief.  Have we all sinned by mistake?   Yes we all have.  Before we knew right from wrong, we all have done wrong.  A provision was made for us to acknowledge the mistake and turn toward Him.  The next passage set my heart to tremble.

Numbers 15.30 “But the being who does whatever defiantly, whether he is native or a stranger, he reviles YHWH and that shall be cut off from among the people.  “Because he has despised the word of YHWH, and has broken is command, that being shall certainly be cut off, his crookedness is upon him.”  

I have to confess this passage sets me to trembling.  Can any of us say that we have never committed sin in rebellion.  Can any of us say that we knew it was in The Scriptures not to do something, but we decided to go ahead and do what was against His Words anyway?  Because we perceive YHWH isn’t here anyway and the thing we desire is?  How about sins of the heart, knowing that we are not supposed to despise our neighbor and we speak cruelty against them.  Or treat people coldly?  Or lie?  How many times has a lie or half truth popped out of your mouth to protect your identity?  Wow right?  The Scriptures tell us there is only one of us who has not committed this sin.  Doing whatever defiantly.  There was no animal sacrifice listed for being defiant against YHWH.

I will confess I have been guilty of being defiant.  So I am deserving of being cut off and my crookedness is upon me.   I was cursed whether I realized that about my life it was in The Scriptures that I was cursed.   The curse was still working destruction in my life I just didn’t know why.  But who never sinned in this way, became a curse for us so we could have life and be reconciled to YHWH.   Behold the mysteries of  Yeshua’s death, my being born again in His Name and His sending the Holy Spirit (The Ruach Ha Kodesh) to grow me up from a child of rebellion and destruction to someone who can follow Yeshua.  Does that mean I wont make mistakes?  No I will make mistakes.  Before I shrunk away from God’s Words because I knew I personally didn’t have what it takes to be accepted by Him. Now I know I have to accept Yeshua’s sacrificial death which brings me life and He will grow me up.  I am also thankful that my heart trembles at being defiant against Yeshua (Jesus), His Father and the Holy Spirit He sent to walk us home.   Therefore repentance and forgiveness can be preached in His Name (Yeshua = Yah’s salvation) Jesus and there is hope for us yet again.

 

passover lamb Yeshua redeemed sm

Leave a Reply

Categories

